Mar 18
Evil site scraping bastards
You look familiar. Are you on Twitter? Subscribed to my feed yet?
Yep, check it out. A mob called Web Propeller are scraping every single post I write on this blog, within an hour of me posting them. Compare my recent post to theirs. They’ve even stolen my image!
I feel a site scraping bastards Googlebomb coming on! Anyone care to help?
















March 18th, 2008 at 3:12 am
Funny – they have this post up there on their site :) But you are listed as a contributor. Maybe they should have a section for “unwilling, unwitting contibutors”.
March 18th, 2008 at 5:21 am
http://www.webpropeller.co.uk/?cat=6
AAAAAAAAAARGH!!!!!!
March 18th, 2008 at 10:42 am
@ Matt and Dani – bwa ha haaaa. That’s right, my plan worked. Looks like I’ve found my Dumbass of the Week!
March 18th, 2008 at 6:02 pm
Hey Kalena I wrote a review of this post and submitted it to stumble upon (one of my favorite sites). I’m actually one or your students and am still learning, but I’d be glad to help in your googlebombing efforts (if you tell can tell me how to do that…LOL). Anyhow, I admire your wit and humor. Thanks a lot for the laugh! Bill
March 19th, 2008 at 4:34 am
[...] brouhaha started when Kalena used her blog to expose a scraper. The industry joke is that this usually leads to the scraper posting on their own site the negative [...]
March 19th, 2008 at 1:07 pm
Have you seen the little apology note that is up on the site now? Apparently it was a “fictional test” to see how easy it is to get to the top of Google.
“Testing” doesn’t give you the right to infringe copyright. They should come clean on who they are.
March 19th, 2008 at 10:05 pm
Surely they would be spat at by the SEs for using dupe content anwyay? Regardless, your site is great, their site is not. The End.